In addition to our Board of Trustees, UUCJ has additional Councils, Committees, and Task Forces which support the health of our community:


Ministry Council

The Ministry Council, co-led by our Minister and President-Elect, meets throughout the year to coordinate the ministry activities of UUCJ. The Ministry Council consists of the chairs of the various Ministry Teams:

Welcoming Community

The Welcoming Community Ministry Team, led by Brenda Taylor, is responsible for greeting guests, hospitality, welcoming new members and friends, social activities, and remembrance of members. See the Welcoming Community page for more information.

Exploring Our Beliefs

The Exploring Our Beliefs Ministry Team, led by Jim Becker, is responsible for lifespan religious education, affinity groups, and Sunday programs. See the Exploring Our Beliefs page for more information.

Living Our Values

The Living Our Values Ministry Team, led by Patricia Ice & Lisa Dunn, is responsible for caring for members and friends in need, promoting responsible and open communication in our congregation, ethical practices in our congregation, and ecological stewardship of our facilities and grounds. See the Living Our Values page for more information.

Changing Our World

The Changing Our World Ministry Team, led by David Voisin, is responsible for promoting social justice in our world, organizing social action events for members and friends, and collaborating in interfaith and allied action. See the Changing Our World page for more information.


Calm Council

The Calm Council supports a healthy and safe church community by providing guidance in situations involving interpersonal conflict among members, friends, and/or groups and allegations of violations of the UUCJ Behavioral Covenant. The CALM Council consists of three members in good standing, who are not on the Board, elected annually at the Spring Biannual Meeting. The current members are: Jim Becker, Lisa Kersen, and Judy Williams.


Ministerial Relations Council

The MRC supports the needs of the minister and maintains communication between the minister and the congregation. The MRC conducts an annual evaluation of the minister-congregation relationship and reviews the minister’s contract, including job description, covenant, and other terms, including compensation, and recommend revisions to the Board, as needed. The MRC consists of three members in good standing, who are not on the Board, appointed by the President and Minister. The current members are: Jill Morgan (Chair), Kristen Golden, and Jim Becker.


Leadership Development Council

The LDC supports the development of quality leadership with the UUCJ and provides a slate of candidates to fill all elected positions. The LDC consists of the Past President and three members in good standing, who are not on the Board, who serve three-year staggered terms, with one new member elected each year at the Spring Biannual Meeting. Please contact the LDC if you are interested in becoming a leader or need assistance in your role serving the congregation. The current members are: Eric Wood (Chair), Jill Morgan, and Joe Clayton.


Personnel Council

The Personnel Council hires and supervises all staff of the UUCJ. The Personnel Council develops and revises the duties and responsibilities for each position as well as determines appropriate staff compensation. The Personnel Council consists of the elected officers of the Board. Please contact the Personnel Council if you need more information about staff positions with the UUCJ. The current members are: Stacy Callender (Chair), Eric Wood, David Morgan, and David Voisin.


Committee for Right Race Relations

Oppression is a reality of the world that we live in, and so it’s present and active in our community as well. The Committee for Right Race Relations has been appointed by the Board to help ensure we are welcoming, inclusive, respectful, and in right relations with one another. The Committee for Right Race Relations will provide feedback and guidance to the Minister, Board, Councils, Task Forces, other Committees, and the congregation as a whole on how we build and maintain relationships and ensure the voices of people of color are heard. The current chair is Kayla Roberts, Yolanda Walker, and Aloni Jefferson.


Transition Task Force

The Transition Task Force is responsible for hiring and working with a realtor to sell the North State Street property and managing the move to the North West Street property. The Task Force consists of three members elected by the congregation, two members appointed by the Board, and the Coordinator appointed by the Board. The current members are: Stacy Callender (Coordinator), Eric Wood (Board Rep), Patricia Ice (Board Rep), Vacant (Congregational Rep), Jim Becker (Congregational Rep), and Jason Griggs (Congregational Rep).